Winners announced in the Children and Young People’s Awards

A glittering evening (Monday 12 September) in the Beach Ballroom saw the winners announced at Aberdeen City Council’s Children and Young People’s Service Awards.

Big winners on the night were the pupils and staff at Middleton Park School who not only won The School Award but also the Creative Learning Award while Head Teacher Jenny Watson won The Inspirational Leadership Award.

Other winners on the night were Primary 4E at Hanover Street School who won the Enterprising Young People Award and the Sandra Burnett Award for Environmental Awareness and Rebekah Davidson of Northfield Academy who won the Inspirational Young Person Award.

Bramble Brae, Manor Park, Riverbank and Tullos schools shared the Children and Young People’s Champion Award for their work as Imagineers in the Imagining Aberdeen project run in partnership with the Scottish Parliament.

Also joint winners were Cummings Park School and Northfield Academy for the Partnership Working Award

Aberdeen City Council’s Convener of Education and Children’s Services Committee, Councillor Angela Taylor said: “This was a wonderful evening celebrating some truly inspirational youngsters and adults. The communal spirit and dedication shown by everyone, as well as the triumph over adversity in many instances, shows the very best of Aberdeen’s people.

“Each nominee has made a great contribution to the community and nominees and winners alike can feel justly proud of their achievements.”

The list of winners in full is:

Aberdeen Guarantees Award - SHMU

Creative Learning Award - Middleton Park School

Developing the Young Workforce Award - Hazlehead Academy / Subsea 7

Enterprising Young People Award - Primary 4E Hanover Street School

Health and Wellbeing Award - Stoneywood School

Inspirational Young Person Award – Rebekah Davidson, Northfield Academy

Learning for Sustainability Award - Riverbank School

Learning Through Technology Award - Niki Anderson, Hazlewood School and Charlie Love, Learning Technologies Team

Parental Engagement Award – Clinterty Project

Partnership Working Award - Northfield Academy / Youth Work in Schools Team and Cummings Park Garden Project (Joint Winners)

Physical Achievement Award - Owen Stephen, Bucksburn Academy

Positive Ethos Award - Graham Sinclair, Kingsfield Children's Home

Promoting Inclusion Award - Luke McRobbie & P5/6 Stoneywood School

Raising Achievement Award - Amanda Kirk and April Strachan, Gilcomstoun School

Sandra Burnett Award for Environmental Awareness - Primary 4E Hanover Street School

Special Achievement Award, Looked After Children - Megan Rhynd

The Health and Care Award - Keir Lynch, Harlaw Academy

The Schools Award – Middleton Park School

Unsung Hero Award - Pamela MacRae, Aberdeen School for the Deaf

Inspirational Leadership Award - Jenny Watson, Middleton Park School

Working in the Community Award - Allan McKessick - Bridge of Don Academy

Children & Young People's Champion - Imagining Aberdeen Project, Bramble Brae, Manor Park, Riverbank and Tullos Schools

Special Success Award Winners - Megan Thomson - Hazlehead Academy, Martin Carle - St Machar Academy, Lorna Spiers - Vision Support Service, Jessica Hamilton - Hazlewood School, Hayden Redford - Middleton Park School, Shona Fraser - Aberdeen Grammar School, Olivia Reid - Hazlehead Academy, Harlaw Academy ASRA – (Chris Bardas, Theo Stott, Emma Quinn, Cara Leslie, Jakub Zbikowski, Daniel Lynch), Rachel Mathieson - Hazlehead Academy, Finlay Deans - Bridge of Don Academy, Jasmine Urquhart, Lee Munro - Kincorth Academy, Robert Smith - St Machar Academy