Aberdeen ,

Star Awards recognises City Council staff achievements

Aberdeen City Council has recognised the outstanding achievements of its staff with a series of ‘Star Awards’ at a special ceremony at the Beach Ballroom last night (Thursday 14 June).

Judges from and from public and private sector organisations in the city selected the category winners from around 150 nominations from City Council colleagues and members of the public.

The finalists of the People’s Champion award were featured in the Evening Express with almost 3,000 readers taken the time to vote for the Council employee they thought was most worthy of this special award.

People’s Champion

This award is for an individual or team who are an unsung hero and deserve recognition for the work they do.


  • Ian Geddes, former Management Information Systems (MIS) co-ordinator, Integrated Children’s and Family Service


  • Amanda Pirie, youth work coordinator, Printfield Projects
  • Mike Chalmers, area supervisor, Operations and Protective Services
  • James Warden, environmental driver, and Douglas Strachan, environmental operative, both part of Operations and Protective Services

Team of the Year

This award is for a team which has either achieved outstanding performance levels and customer satisfaction or worked in a focussed and unified way to deliver a desired objective for the Council and City.


  • Environmental Services “Aberdeen In Bloom” Team


  • Waste & Recycling Team
  • Governance Project Team

Rising Star

This award celebrates an individual who has shone in their new role in the Council.


  • Graeme Baird, apprentice electrician, Operations


  • Roy MacQueen, administration officer, Customer
  • Karen Gellatly, gardener, Operations.

Improving Staff Experience

This award is for an individual or team whose behaviour creates a positive culture and enhances the experience of our staff.


  • Lynn Scanlon, service manager (Curriculum), Integrated Children’s and Family Services


  • Pam Smith, senior support assistant, Early Intervention and Community Empowerment
  • Marie-Claire Lyon, development officer, Integrated Children’s and Family Services

Improving Customer Experience

This award is for an individual or team who has either demonstrated exceptional customer service or has enhances how customers experience our services.


  • Grace Shanks, family resource worker, Integrated Children’s and Family Services


  • Angela Sadler and Fiona Brown, organisers of Walker Road Dancers, Walker Road School
  • Paul Clark, contracts manager, Operation and Protective Services, and Wendy Carle, housing manager, Early Intervention and Community Empowerment, Customer (representing the teams involved in responding to the fire incident at Cairncry Court.


The collaboration award is for an individual(s) or teams who have demonstrated excellence in working together.


  • Marchburn / Oldtown Working Group


  • Countryside Rangers & Healthy Minds team – Branching Out
  • Multi Agency team – Orchard Brae.

Improving Use of Resources

This award is for an individual or team that strive for best value, effectively managing their resources whilst still delivering outcomes.


  • Heathryfold Park Building Project (Housing, Flood, Environmental & Locality teams)


  • Accounting team led by Angela Crawford, Resources
  • Projects & Partnerships team led by Emma Watt, Resources


This award recognises an individual or a team who have demonstrated an innovative approach and improved the way we do business. The Innovation award wa voted for during the ceremony.

  • Winner: Will Burnish, team lead, Flooding and Coastal, Operations and Protective Services


  • Elizabeth Elrick, teacher, Hanover Street, Integrated Children’s and Family Services
  • Rory Holwerda, teacher, Tullos School, Integrated Children’s and Family Services

Long Service Awards

Aberdeen City Council Co-Leader Councillor Jenny Laing presented long service awards were presented to staff who have been with the Council for 40 years.

  • Audrey Walker
  • Diane Clark
  • Doug Ritchie
  • Lynn Ritchie
  • Flora Gordon
  • Graeme Robb
  • Iain Jamieson
  • James Gordon
  • Kathleen Hebenton
  • Linda Clark
  • Mark Ferguson
  • Neil Crichton
  • Paul Webster
  • Walter Menhinick

Angela Scott, Chief Executive, Aberdeen City Council said: “I never fail to come away from the Star Awards feeling energised by the efforts of colleagues – not to mention humbled by the selflessness that shines through time and time again.

“The Star Awards underline the excellence that is such a big part of life at Aberdeen City Council. There’s so much to admire and to celebrate – my congratulations go to everyone nominated, all of the finalists and of course the award winners.”

Aberdeen City Council’s Co-Leader Councillor Jenny Laing said: “Aberdeen City Council employees make a substantial difference to the lives of our residents daily and the Star Awards are a great opportunity to recognise the unsung heroes and heroines of this great city, and to celebrate the excellent work that they do.

“It’s clear to see why this year’s finalists have been nominated and I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate them and of course the winners – they are all a great credit to the Council.”

The Star Awards dinner and ceremony was fully funded with the kind support of sponsors Xerox UK Ltd, Instock Group, McWilliam Aberdeen Ltd, Brakes, Arco, Passell, First Bus, TPS and Central Coaches.

Photos of the last night’s ceremony include the pipes and drums; Walker Road Dancers; Ian Geddes – People’s Champion 2018, and Aberdeen City Council Co-Leader Councillor Jenny Laing and Angela Scott, Chief Executive, with Team of The Year – Environmental Services – Aberdeen in Bloom team.