Scottish Parliamentary election 2021: candidates announced for Aberdeen City constituencies

The candidates in the Aberdeen City constituencies and the North East Scotland Region for the Scottish Parliamentary election have been announced today.

The candidates for the Aberdeen Donside, Aberdeen Central and Aberdeen South & Kincardine constituencies and North East of Scotland region are, in alphabetical order:

Aberdeen Donside: Harriet Cross (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party), Isobel Davidson (Scottish Liberal Democrats), Jackie Dunbar (Scottish National Party SNP), Lucas Grant (Scottish Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition), Heather Herbert (Scottish Labour Party).

Aberdeen Central: Barry Black (Scottish Labour Party), Desmond Bouse (Scottish Liberal Democrats), Guy Ingerson (Scottish Green Party), Douglas Lumsden (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party), Kevin Morrice Stewart (Scottish National Party SNP).

Aberdeen South and North Kincardine: Stephen Jamieson (Scottish Libertarian Party), Liam Kerr (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party), Audrey Nicholl (Scottish National Party SNP), Lynn Thomson (Scottish Labour Party), Ian Yuill (Scottish Liberal Democrats).

North East of Scotland region:

Abolish the Scottish Parliament Party (Callum Buchanan);

Alba Party (Alex Salmond, Heather McLean, Brian Topping, Dot Jessiman);

All For Unity (Arthur Keith, Scott Fenwick, Bobby Ferguson, Danielle Millar, Richard Kelbie, Ben Stones, John McPhee);

Freedom Alliance – Integrity, Society, Economy (Kirsty Isabel Miller, Jason Duncan, Diane Lesley Mathieson, Sadie Cubitt);

Independent Green Voice (Richard Tallach);

Reform UK (John Barclay Cox, James George Whitelaw, Greig Mair, Samantha Lee Evans, Carol Mitchell MacDonald;

Renew (Colin Alexander McFadyen);

Restore Scotland (David McHutchon, Ewan Gurr);

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party (Liam Kerr, Alexander Burnett, Douglas Lumsden, Maurice Golden, Tess White, Gillian Tebberen, Stewart Whyte, Mark Findlater, Harriet Cross, Philip Scott, Mason McIlreavy, Alan Fakley);

Scottish Family Party (David Thomas Bestwick, John Mark Donaldson, William James Strachan, George Macleod Arthur, Shehla Noreen Arthur);

Scottish Green Party (Maggie Chapman, Guy Ingerson, Rachel Shanks, Lewis Leodhas, Sylvia Hardie, Peter Kennedy, Bradley Booth);

Scottish Labour Party (Michael Marra, Mercedes Villalba, Barry Black, Lynn Thomson, Richard McCready, Georgia Strachan, Kamaal Bola, Heather Herbert, Owen Wright):

Scottish Liberal Democrats (Rosemary Bruce, John Robert McConnachie Waddell, Ben George Lawrie, Ian Yuill, Conrad James Wood, Isobel Davidson, Alison Mary Simpson, Michael Crichton);

Scottish Libertarian Party (Bryce Hope);

Scottish National Party SNP (Fatima Joji, Christian Allard, Fergus Mutch, William Duff, Nadia El-Nakla, John Cooke, Lynne Short, Gill Al-Samarai, Josh Mennie);

UK Independence Party (Duncan Odgers, David Mackay, William Morren, Gerald Haddrell, Albert Emery, Kathleen Rowham);

Individual regional candidates - Geoffrey Alexander Farquharson (Independent); Laura Marshall (Independent).

Special measures will be in place at polling stations in line with current COVID-19 restrictions for the Scottish Parliamentary election, which will be held on Thursday 06 May 2021.

Information on the election including a special FAQs is available on the council website.

Anyone who is 16 or over on or before Thursday 06 May 2021 who lives in Scotland can vote in the Scottish Parliamentary election, however if they are not already on the electoral register they must register to vote at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote by 11.59pm on Monday 19 April.

Voters who wish to apply to vote by post must apply at https://www.grampian-vjb.gov.uk/electoral-register/absent-voting/ before 5pm on Tuesday 06 April.

Please note that the 6 April deadline for applying for a postal vote is before the deadline for registration.

Anyone who wishes to vote by proxy must apply at https://www.grampian-vjb.gov.uk/electoral-register/absent-voting/ before 5pm on Tuesday 27 April.

Registered postal voters who have not received their postal vote should contact the council’s Election Office on 01224 523501 or email elections@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Anyone registered to vote in the Scottish Parliament election who thinks they may not be able to return their postal vote in time should consider appointing a proxy voter and make an application for a proxy vote before the 5pm on Tuesday 27 April deadline. The deadline for an emergency proxy vote is 5pm on Thursday 06 May 2021.