Register to vote reminder for Torry/Ferryhill by-election

Would-be voters in the forthcoming Aberdeen City Council Torry/Ferryhill ward by-election are being reminded that if they are not already on the electoral register they have until Tuesday 05 November to register to vote.

The Aberdeen City Council by-election for the vacant seat in the Torry/Ferryhill ward will be held on Thursday 21 November 2019. The vacancy has arisen following the resignation of Councillor Catriona Mackenzie.

Voters are advised that the deadline for new postal vote applications and changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm on Wednesday 6 November.

The deadline for new applications to vote by proxy is 5pm on Wednesday 13 November.

Registered postal voters can expect to receive their postal votes around Wednesday 13 November. Postal voters who have not received their postal vote by Friday 15 November, should contact the council’s Election Office on 01224 523501.

Anyone registered to vote in the Torry/Ferryhill by-election who think they may not be able to return their postal vote in time should consider appointing a proxy voter and make an application for a proxy vote before 5pm on Wednesday 13 November deadline.

For more information on the Torry/Ferryhill by-election, please click on www.aberdeencity.gov.uk/byelection

For any queries on registering to vote, please contact the Electoral Registration Office, by telephone on 01224 068400 or email ero@grampian-vjb.gov.uk or visit www.voteaberdeen.org.

Aberdeen City Council comprises 45 council seats across 13 wards. Torry/Ferryhill is represented by four elected members, with Councillor Yvonne Allan, Councillor Christian Allard and Councillor Alan Donnelly continuing to serve.