Proposed charges for car parking dropped

Councillors today (Thurs 25 Aug) agreed not to proceed with proposed charges for three city car parks after listening to community wishes.

The proposed parking charges were for Crombie Road car park in Torry, Dunmail Avenue car park in Cults, and Station Road car park in Bucksburn..

The members of the City Council’s Communities, Housing and Infrastructure Committee made the decision after listening to a deputation from Mr Moss.

The unanimous decision was made after Communities, Housing and Infrastructure convener Councillor Neil Cooney put a motion forward for the move.

Cllr Cooney said: “The community provided their views and raised their concerns, and while it was a challenging decision financially I am delighted that the committee agreed not to proceed with the parking charges.”

The committee has requested that Aberdeen City Council officers look at alternative avenues to secure financial revenue from other areas.

The report to committee stated the parking controls proposed would have operated on any day, except Sundays, between the hours of 8am and 6pm. The charge for parking would have been £1 for a maximum stay of two hours.

The report stated 48 objections to the proposals were received during the statutory public consultation phase, with an additional five objections accepted after the consultation deadline.

Four objections related directly to Crombie Road car park, Torry (a further notice of objection from Torry Community Council was also received after the conclusion of the statutory consultation phase), five objections were submitted regarding Dunmail Avenue car park, Cults (including a further notice of objection from Cults, Bieldside and Milltimber Community Council, in addition to the representation made during the initial statutory consultation phase).

It said 44 objections were submitted with respect to the introduction of car parking charges at the Station Road car park, Bucksburn, including a further notice of objection from Bucksburn and Newhills Community Council.