Local school children join elite race teams as mascots

ToBi the OVO Energy Tour Series mascot took a trip around Aberdeen to visit schools and find his mascot team for when the cycle race hits Aberdeen next month.

Over two days, ToBi visited the following schools:

  • Hazlehead Primary
  • Kirkhill Nursery Primary
  • Middleton Park School
  • Bramble Brae School
  • Loirston Primary School

Twenty junior team mascots were chosen for race day by ToBi and the schools.

In order to be selected as a team mascot, children had to be aged 7-12 and be available on Thursday 17 May, with a designated adult. Each team mascot will receive a T-shirt and get to go up on the podium with the teams and do a line up on the start line ahead of the elite men’s race with local press.

Aberdeen City Council Co-Leader Councillor Jenny Laing said: “Giving local children the chance to become mascots at the OVO Energy Tour Series is a brilliant opportunity to inspire the next generation of cyclists.

“The Tour Series in 2017 was an incredible day with people lining the streets to cheer on the competitors. Aberdeen is a dynamic city which offers a great deal for both residents and visitors. We are making a concerted effort to raise the city’s profile through our ambitious events programme and bringing The OVO Energy Tour Series to Aberdeen, in conjunction with EventScotland, will strengthen Aberdeen’s position as a must-visit destination for high-profile cultural and sporting events”.

Entering its tenth season of competition, the unique, televised race will once see Britain's top cycle teams will compete in Round 3 of the Tour Series in Aberdeen on Thursday 17 May. Elite cyclist will race around the city centre in a closed-circuit route from the start/finish line on Union Street. Moving onto Union Terrace, turning right onto Rosemount Viaduct/Schoolhill down Back Wynd, meeting Union Street once again and doubling back at the Market Street Junction to head up Union Street to race in to the next lap.

Defending men’s champions JLT Condor, who count three-time British Olympic champion Ed Clancy among their roster, will return to this year’s event with the aim of winning the Series for the fifth time. Meanwhile, having established themselves as one of the best development teams on the female scene, defending women’s Series champions Trek-Drops will look to beat last year’s haul of four wins from eight races.

Race Director Mick Bennett of the OVO Energy Tour Series organisers SweetSpot said: “It is great to see schools in Aberdeen once again getting behind the OVO Energy Tour Series and the excitement beginning to build ahead of the 17 May. We saw the while community getting behind the event last year with activities on the circuit throughout the day for all ages and abilities. This year with the addition of an elite women’s race there is going to be even more to look forward to!”

Paul Bush OBE, VisitScotland’s Director of Events, said: “EventScotland is delighted to be supporting Aberdeen to bring the OVO Energy Tour Series back to the city for a second successive year. The whole community has really gotten behind this fantastic event and it’s great to see ToBi out and about recruiting his mascot team from the local schools, especially as we celebrate Scotland’s Year of Young People 2018.

“With our stunning natural environment, Scotland is the perfect stage for cycling events and this is evident in the Tour Series’ decision to again bring two rounds of the event north of the border.”

Chris Foy, chief executive of VisitAberdeenshire said, “It’s fantastic to see local children getting involved in the event and we hope the national television coverage will inspire families from throughout the UK to come and experience Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire, possibly even by bicycle. The region’s accessibility, cultural attractions and affordable accommodation make Aberdeen a fantastic place to visit, and we look forward to welcoming many more national and international visitors.”

Highlights of every round of The Tour Series will be shown on ITV4, with programmes also be available on demand via the ITV Hub. The Aberdeen round will be televised at 10pm on Friday 18th May with a repeat the following daytime.