Go ahead given for two boundary changes for Aberdeen schools

Aberdeen City Council has approved two zone boundary changes for schools in the city.

The changes follow a period of statutory consultation for two proposals put forward by Aberdeen City Council to rezone existing boundaries for five Aberdeen schools.

The first of the changes sees an area of housing within the Manor Park and Bramble Brae School zones, rezoned from the St Machar Academy zone to Northfield Academy.

The second set of changes will see an existing area of dual school zoning for Broomhill School and Airyhall School moved to fall within the Broomhill School zone only and, similarly, for Broomhill School to wholly include an area currently shared with Ferryhill School. These changes will take effect from 1 August 2017.

Councillor Angela Taylor, Convenor of Education and Children’s Services Committee, said: “These are important changes in line with this council’s vision to improve the learning opportunities and better outcomes for all our children.

“The changes follow a period of consultation in May, including public meetings, with pupils, staff and the wider school communities encouraged to give their views. Our changes will ensure sustainable and manageable pupil rolls in these areas and allow staff to plan for children’s learning more effectively.”

Councillors also approved that officers prepare a Proposal Document for Public Consultation on the proposal to rezone the area of ground which lies south of North Deeside Road and is currently in the Airyhall School zone to the Broomhill School zone.