City celebrates outstanding achievements in Children’s and Young People’s Services

A packed Beach Ballroom yesterday (Monday 16 September) hailed a year of outstanding achievements at the prestigious Children and Young People’s Services Awards run by Aberdeen City Council.

This ceremony saw the city’s children and young people winning recognition across a diverse range of categories with Cults Academy coming up trumps in the Whole School Achievement Award for their Rights Respecting Schools work which has been recognised with a gold flag from Unicef.

Other winners included Orchard Brae School’s Makaton Choir which won the Creative Learning Award Laszlo Hajdu of Harlaw Academy who was chosen for the Inspirational Leader Award.

The 50-strong Orchard Brae choir performed at the Christmas Concert at the Music Hall. using the unique Makaton language programme that uses symbols, signs and speech to enable people to communicate.

17-year-old Lazlo arrived in Aberdeen with his family from his native Hungary eight years ago and spoke very little English but has now gone on to achieve the Advanced Higher results he required to attend Edinburgh University to study electrical and mechanical engineering.

Cults Academy was praised in a Unicef report for its positive approach to inclusion, its pupil-led working groups, charitable fund-raising, working with Primary schools and the way in which the pupils are encouraged to articulate their views in an informed way.

Eleanor Sheppard, Aberdeen City Council’s Chief Education Officer, said: “Today’s awards ceremony really underlines what a great year this has been for our schools and it’s great to be able to recognise the creativity and hard work of the pupils and staff in this way.

“I’d like to pay tribute all the nominees and winners in all the categories. These awards celebrate the very best of our children and young people and the outstanding work done by Aberdeen City Council’s services to support them. This will really stand us in good stead as we work together towards becoming a Unicef Child Friendly City”

The full list of winners is listed below:

Developing the Young Workforce Award

Bramble Brae School and Chris Dunhill

Learning for Sustainability Award

Kristoffer Davidson - Scotstown School


Learning through Technology Award

Lean Quantrell, Lewa Olaosebikan, Nicole Brown, Charlotte Hume

Enterprising Young People Award

Go4Set Club - Lochside Academy


Physical Achievement Award

Jessica Kirkwood - Kirkhill School / Jason Cobb, Bucksburn Academy


Creative Learning Award

Orchard Brae School Makaton School

Promoting Inclusion Award

Shared Reading Team – Dyce Academy / Dyce Primary School

Inspirational Leader Award

Laszlo Hajdu - Harlaw Academy

Health and Wellbeing Award

Calum Greig, Yvie Mair, Andi Mutch, Macaulay Imlach -Bramble School

Children’s Parliament

Community Partnership Award

Fernielea School

Transformation Award

Pupil Representatives - Harlaw Academy


Whole School Achievement Award

Cults Academy