Alex is acclaimed as our Unsung Hero

Alex Allan, Audio Visual Technician at Harlaw Academy was last night (Wednesday 28 September) voted Unsung Hero at the prestigious Children and Young People’ Services Awards run by Aberdeen City Council.

In only the second time in the awards’ history, the public voted for the nominees and Alex was announced as the winner at last night’s big occasion at the Beach Ballroom.

Alex was nominated for the award Tom Whyte, Faculty Head of Wider Achievement at Harlaw Academy, for his two decades of contribution to the wider life of the school and his thousands of hours of volunteer and charity fundraising work which has raised thousands of pounds over the years.

Over the last two years, and completely in his own time, Alex has created and led Harlaw Studios which trains pupils in green screen technology and filming techniques, enabling them to produce numerous films.

Aberdeen City Council’s Convener of Education and Children’s Services, Councillor John Wheeler (pictured right) said: “I understand that it was a neck and neck between all our nominees in the vote this year which goes to show the high regard in which all of our unsung heroes are held.

“For Alex to emerge as the eventual winner from such a strong shortlist is great recognition for his decades of unstinting, selfless service. Congratulations to him and all our other winners and nominees tonight.”

The Lord Provost of Aberdeen Barney Crockett said: “It was an absolute pleasure to attend this annual awards ceremony which recognises and celebrates the outstanding accomplishments of Aberdeen City Council’s services for children and young people. It was great to meet the children and young people who also received awards in recognition of their own successes. Many congratulations to the winners and to everyone involved in making it such a special night.”

Gayle Gorman, Director of Education and Children’s Services, said: “The Children and Young People’s Services Awards are one of the highlights in the Council’s calendar and this year was no exception.

“All of our winners and nominees have made huge contributions to their schools and communities and it’s fantastic to be able to show our appreciation in this way for all their efforts.”

The full list of winners is listed below:

Raising Achievement Award

Lydia Tait & James Cook

Developing the Young Workforce Award

My World of Work Ambassadors - Harlaw Academy

Physical Achievement Award

Dean Campbell - Hazlehead Academy

Partnership Working Award

Kingswells Primary School & Nick Sharratt

Parental Engagement Award

Gregor Watson - Westpark Primary School

Creative Learning Award

Kelsey-Lee Watson

Children and Young People's Champion Award

Aimee Work - Hazlehead Academy

Promoting Inclusion Award

S1-S6 Dyce Academy

Children's Rights Champion Award

Global Goals Group - Bridge of Don Academy

Learning for Sustainability Award

Hazlehead Primary School

Learning Through Technology Award

Google Ambassadors - Fernielea Primary School

Enterprising Young People Award

Torry Academy Robotics Team

Inspirational Leadership Award

Holly Shum - Bridge of Don Academy & Gael Ross - Stoneywood


The Health and Wellbeing Award

Russell Anderson Development School & Riverbank School


The Community Learning Award

Wider Achievement Faculty - Harlaw Academy

The Schools Award

Muirfield School

The Baillie John Porter Award

Ashley Road School

The Unsung Hero Award

Alex Allan, Harlaw Academy

Special Success Awards

Susan Greig, Aberlour Futures

Wilma Smith, Bramble Brae School

Kirsty Muir - Bucksburn Academy

Dylan Hepburn - Harlaw Academy