Aberdeen recognised in national housing awards

Aberdeen has been honoured with three awards recognising the city and its residents for a commitment to improving quality of life for tenants.

At the Tenants Information Service (TIS) annual ceremony, the coveted Danny Mullen Award for the Organisation of the Year was presented to Aberdeen City Council. The criteria centres on innovation in housing, with an emphasis on tenant participation.

Norma Groves won the Frances Nelson MBE Award for Tenant of the Year. The prize is a tribute to the dedication and commitment Norma makes to improving the lives of others in her community and the example she sets. It is the second consecutive year an Aberdeen tenant has been honoured, with Paul McMenemy the 2017 recipient.

To complete the hat-trick, the Tenant Participation Champion of the Year prize was awarded to Aberdeen City Council’s Carol Hannaford in her role as Development Officer for Tenant and Resident Participation.

The TIS promotes and inspires innovative tenant participation and scrutiny practice in Scotland. The organisation provides independent advice, support, and training for tenants and housing organisations to work together more effectively.

Cllr Sandra Macdonald, Aberdeen City Council’s Housing spokesperson, said: “The TIS does an important job throughout the country and its aims are very much in line with those of Aberdeen City Council.

“We work hard to improve the quality of life for the tenants of our 22,000 rental properties and it is very encouraging to see those efforts being recognised nationally with the awards from the TIS and a place on the shortlist in two further categories.

“The organisation and individual members of staff are committed to continuous improvement and to ensuring tenants voices are heard loud and clear. Without that engagement with those we serve, it simply wouldn’t be possible to deliver the best possible service.

“It’s fantastic that Aberdeen tenants have received the Frances Nelson MBE Award for the past two years. Our congratulations go to Norma for her well-deserved success.”