Aberdeen City Council by-elections set for July and October

Two local government by-elections for Aberdeen City Council will be held on 30 July and a third on 01 October.

New members will be elected for the Kincorth, Nigg and Cove ward and the Hilton, Woodside and Stockethill ward on 30 July.

The vacancies were created by the resignations of SNP councillors Callum McCaig and Kirsty Blackman, who were elected as MPs, for Aberdeen South and Aberdeen North respectively, at the UK parliamentary election on 07 May. Mr McCaig represented the Kincorth, Nigg and Cove ward, while Mrs Blackman was a ward member for Hilton, Woodside and Stockethill.

Voters will go to the polls to elect a new member for the George Street and Harbour ward on 01 October. The seat is currently held by SNP councillor Andrew May, who is standing down.

Details of polling places will be announced at a later date.