Aberdeen City Council by-election date announced

The Aberdeen City Council by-election for the vacant seat in the Kincorth / Nigg / Cove ward will be held on Thursday 05 November 2020.

Today’s [Thursday 17 September] Notice of Election follows the resignation of Councillor Stephen Flynn in March this year after he was elected to serve as a Member of Parliament for Aberdeen South in the 2019 general election. The by-election had been postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Nomination papers can be delivered from the day after publication of the Notice of Election to the Town House on weekdays between 10am and 4pm until and including Monday 05 October. The Town House will be open only for those wishing to lodge nominations and not to the general public.

Further information on the Kincorth / Nigg / Cove by-election is available on the council’s website.

Aberdeen City Council comprises 45 council seats across 13 wards. Kincorth / Nigg / Cove is represented by 4 elected members, with Councillor Sarah Duncan, Councillor Alex Nicoll and Councillor Philip Sellar continuing to serve.