Aberdeen City Council administration confirmed

Aberdeen City Council today (17 May) installed a new political administration and made key appointments, with a Lord Provost and Council Leader voted into office.

The Council met for the first time since the 2017 Scottish Council Elections on 4 May, when 45 councillors were returned to serve 13 multi-member wards.

A coalition administration has been formed by Scottish Conservative and Unionist (11 members), Aberdeen Labour (nine members) and Independent Alliance Group (three members) councillors.

Cllr Barney Crockett has been appointed Lord Provost and Cllr Tom Mason as Depute Provost. Cllr Jennifer Laing has been appointed Council Leader.

Today’s agenda also includes the confirmation of committee conveners and additional appointments to committees and boards.

Further information is available at: https://goo.gl/B7Hc5L

Pictured: The Lord Provost of Aberdeen Barney Crockett. 

Media Team - Office hours
The media office operates between 9am and 5pm.
01224 523188
Media Team - Out of Office hours
07825 546396
Paul Smith
External and Internal Communications Manager
01224 523188
07747 564161
Share this release
Share on: Twitter
Share on: Facebook
Share on: LinkedIn
Latest news